Australian Council Of National Trusts

The National Trust of Australia is a community-based, non-government organisation, committed to promoting and conserving Australia's indigenous, natural and historic heritage through its advocacy work and its custodianship of heritage places and objects.

The Australian National Trust movement was established in New South Wales in 1945 by Annie Wyatt who, along with a group of other citizens, raised community consciousness of widespread destruction of the built and natural heritage in Sydney. 

Collectively the organisation owns or manages over 300 heritage places (the majority held in perpetuity), manages a volunteer workforce of 7000 while also employing about 350 people nationwide.

We rely heavily on community support  generated through membership subscriptions, sponsorship, donations and bequests, property admissions and retail sales .

Of the collective total operational revenue generated by the organisation less than 10% is sourced from government.

Add Your Business